Bank Holiday analogue synth fun

So I’m roughly two thirds of the way through my acoustic-guitar-and-computer/cubist folk album and looking ahead to the next one which I can imagine going completely the other way and being very synthy.

I’m vaguely thinking about investing serious money in some more expansive analogue synth stuff (when I’ve saved it up). So my mind’s very much full of bleeps and bloops right now. Here are some of them that I managed to capture in the real world using the Doepfer Dark Energy and Jen SX1000 which I already used a fair bit on The Signal and the Noise:

In other news Local Sports Team are about to start recording an EP after a well-received first gig. Buzz Magazine described us as ‘largely instrumental synthy indie’ which was ‘loosely comparable to Caribou or Yo La Tengo’. They said our stuff would ‘hopefully’ be recorded soon (rather than ‘unfortunately’) which is nice. Watch this space.

Meanwhile don’t forget that The Signal and the Noise is out now. Available direct from me as CD/mp3, or Spillers if you’re in Cardiff, you can also get it from major mp3 websites if you want to do that..

Recent listening <3's:

Gas – Nah Und Fern
Dabrye – One/Three
Actress – R.I.P.
Thee Oh Sees – Carrion Crawler
White Noise – An Electric Storm
Hot Chip – In Our Heads
Sigur Ros – Valtari
various Nicolas Jaar EP's
everything by Field Music

Leave a Reply

